Our Mission

The Ohio Valley Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences is dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of television. Our mission is to serve our members, promote the highest standards in television professionalism and recognize excellence in television throughout our region with the coveted regional Emmy® award. We also educate and mentor the next generation of professionals with scholarships and the High School and College Student Production Awards.


The roots of The Ohio Valley Chapter can be traced to 1959 when the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences was petitioned to form a regional Chapter in Columbus, Ohio. That Charter was granted by the National Trustees in September of 1962, marking the beginning of the National Academy’s second “regional”, known then as the Columbus Chapter of NATAS. In its first year, the fledgling organization named Merv Durea (Program Director, WLW-C) its first president, established a scholarship ‘to be awarded to an outstanding Ohio State University student in television’, and sponsored professional development seminars featuring Rod Serling (October 1962) and Shari Lewis (March 1963).

First Emmy® Awards

In 1964, the Columbus Chapter’s first Emmy® Awards were presented to “Channel 10 Reports”, WBNS; and “Christmas in the Air”, WLW-C at the Museum of Science & Industry in Columbus.


By 1974, the Chapter expanded to include Dayton and Cincinnati and was re-named the Columbus/Dayton/Cincinnati Chapter. Our Chapter is unique in that it is the only regional NATAS chapter that retains its Charter in three cities.

In the early 1990s, the Emmy® Award boundaries of all regional chapters were expanded to ensure that every television professional in the United States would have access to and eligibility in the renowned Emmy® Awards. In 1994, the C/D/C Chapter adopted a more inclusive name, the Ohio Valley Chapter, to more accurately reflect the large region we serve.


Today, our chapter presents the prestigious and coveted Emmy® Award to television professionals in thirteen markets across four states, recognizes talented students through our high school and college Student Production Awards, and makes scholarships available to students at accredited colleges and universities throughout the region.

Office Address

NATAS Ohio Valley Chapter
PO Box 411
West Chester, Ohio 45071

Phone: 513-319-8500



Evan Millward


Executive Director

Merry Ewing


Student Development Coordinator

Brynn DeLange


Board of Governors

Executive Committee
Evan Millward – President, WCPO, Lexingtonb, KY
John Simpson – Treasurer – WTVW – Evansville, IN
Susan Dinkle – Secretary WTHI – Terre Haute, IN
Roy Flynn – VP Ohio – University of Dayton – Dayton, OH
Eric Minor – VP West Virginia – WBOY – Clarksburg, WV
Brian Cissell – VP Indiana – 14News – Evansville, IN
Gilbert Corsey – VP Kentucky – WDRB – Louisville, KY
Nancy Cox, President Emeritus – Lexington, KY

At Large Members
Diana Bergemann – WOSU – Columbus, OH
Scott Eckhardt – WLKY, Louisville, KY
Jonathan Gregg – Spectrum News – Louisville, KY
Donald Hancock – University of Cincinnati – Cincinnati, OH
Sarah Hogencamp – Asbury University – Lexington, KY
Leslie Rubin – WCHS, Charleston-Huntington, WV
Pat Simon – WOWK, Charleston-Huntington, WV
Scott Thompson – RESLV, Cincinnati, OH
Tracy Townsend-Enders – WBNS, Columbus, OH