

2023 NATAS Ohio Valley Chapter College Student Production Award Nominees

Entries are scored, and nominees and recipients chosen, based on a standard of excellence. Therefore, there may be one, more than one or no nominee or recipient in any given category. Some categories have been combined for award ceremony purposes, but rest assured that each category was judged individually.

Newscast or News Report

NewsWatch Special Report: The Future of Higher Education in Southeast Ohio, Ohio University (Athens, OH)

Claire Schiopota, Matthew Gebhart, Lexi Lepof, Andre Norrils, Jack Demmler, Emma Dollenmayer, Taylor Mondragon, Silver Barker, Dylan Theisen, Jacob Motta, Jack Greene

Atish Baidya, Advisor

WVU News-Special Edition: "Addiction in America: An Ongoing Epidemic" WVU (Morgantown, WV) Makenna Leisifer, Tolu Olasoji

Gina Dahlia and Ashton Marra, Advisors

Video Essay, Public Affairs/Community Service & Magazine Program

Tikkun Farms, University of Cincinnati (Cincinnati, OH)

Kelsie Joos

Sean Hughes, Advisor

HELP, Xavier University (Cincinnati, OH)

Michael Stefanski

Blis DeVault, Kyle Howland, Jon Nicholas, Advisors

Breast Cancer Survivor Creates App Helping Others With Self Breast Exams, WKU (Bowling Green, KY)

Adi Schanie

Bradley Pfranger, Advisor

Non-Fiction - Short or Long Form

Don't Forget Us, Asbury University (Wilmore, KY)

Gracie Turner

Rich Manieri, Advisor

Persons' Set Apart, University of Cincinnati (Cincinnati, OH)

Nicholas Raihala, Gabe Schmidt, PJ Donahoe

Don Hancock, Advisor

Third Rock Music, University of Cincinnati - Blue Ash (Cincinnati, OH)

Justin Gammon

H. Michael Sanders, Dave Hubble, Bill Boyle and Matt Bennett, Advisors

A Bitter Taste of Truth, University of Dayton (Dayton, OH)

Mackenzie Meiners, Michael Endre, Ella Riedinger, Gretchen Hianik, Sarah Gellner, Michelle Woeste, Patrick Grobbel

Roy Flynn, Advisor

The Distance Between Us, University of Cincinnati - Blue Ash (Cincinnati, OH)

Rose Sweikata

H. Michael Sanders, Dave Hubble, Bill Boyle, Matt Bennett, Advisors

Ohio Valley Chapter College Student Production Award Nominees (2023)

Fiction - Short or Long Form

Thereafter, Western Kentucky University (Bowling Green, KY)

Aaron Davis, Elisabeth Sandahl, Carrie Guyton, Julie Bryson, Travis Harrell Sara Thomason, Advisor

Places, University of Cincinnati (Cincinnati, OH)

Ellie Hartranft

Don Hancock, Advisor

TOAST, Asbury University (Wilmore, KY)

John Michael Heard, Travis Kane Price, Gavin Oak-Lee Reed *Jim Owens, Advisor*

1966, University of Cincinnati (Cincinnati, OH)

Clark Comstock

Don Hancock, Advisor

FATE, University of Cincinnati (Cincinnati, OH)

Megan House, Lauren Deligatti, Ellie Hartranft Don Hancock, Advisor

Crescendo, University of Cincinnati (Cincinnati, OH)

Debra Najor, Eli White, Kuyper Reynolds

Kevin Burke, Advisor

Rewriting Mallory, Miami University (Oxford, OH)

Emerson Adams, Becca Goetz, Vy Tran, Zoltan Feldman, Makenzie Knore, Zach Rimko David Sholle, Advisor

Rose-Colored Glasses, Western Kentucky University (Bowling Green, KY)

April LeAnn, Carrie Guyton, Rachel Coomes, Julie Bryson, Travis Harrell Sara Thomason, Advisor

Arts/Entertainment/Cultural Affairs, Lifestyle, or Music Video

Global & Delicious: Frijolada, University of Cincinnati - Blue Ash (Cincinnati, OH)

Patricia Macias

H. Michael Sanders, Dave Hubble, Bill Boyle, Matt Bennett, Advisors

Fragments, University of Cincinnati (Cincinnati, OH)

Daion Walker, Taylor DeBoo, Ollivia Pascale

Don Hancock, Advisor

Elevator Earthquake, Asbury University (Wilmore, KY)

Travis Kane Price

Sarah Hogencamp, Advisor

Nicole Scott Inc., University of Cincinnati (Cincinnati, OH)

Trinity Hamm, Lillian Smith, Ian Perdomo, Molly Hetzer

Don Hancock, Advisor

Sports Story/Segment, Sports Program, or Live Sporting Event

Hardwood Heroes (Season 13 Episode 6), Ohio University (Athens, OH)

Adam Schlosser, Parker Kopronica, Aidan Cagna, Audrey Paquette, Hailey Hollinger, Bryce Tinson, Conor Mallonn

Atish Baidya, Advisor

Gridiron Glory (Season 23 Episode 7), Ohio University (Athens, OH)

Dylan Theisen, Jacob Motta, Max Brunke, Adam Schlosser, Chloe Gee, Jack Demmler *Atish Baidya*, *Advisor*

Ohio Valley Chapter College Student Production Award Nominees (2023)

Mario Kart Home Circuit Egaming Tournament 2023, Asbury University (Wilmore, KY) Noah Clark Jim Owens, Advisor

Commercial or Public Service Announcement (PSA)

No nominations in these categories

Animation, Graphics, and Special Effects

Stylite, Ohio University (Athens, OH)

Adam Spelic

Brian Plow, Advisor

Isopod Adventure, University of Cincinnati - Blue Ash (Cincinnati, OH)

Ray Runtz

H. Michael Sanders, Dave Hubble, David Hartz, Bill Boyle, Matt Bennett, Advisors

Torturous Power, University of Cincinnati - Blue Ash (Cincinnati, OH)

Kvler Duecker

H. Michael Sanders, Dave Hubble, David Hartz, Bill Boyle, Matt Bennett, Advisors

Director or Writer

Third Rock Music, University of Cincinnati - Blue Ash (Cincinnati, OH)

Justin Gammon

H. Michael Sanders, Dave Hubble, Bill Boyle and Matt Bennett, Advisors

TOAST, Asbury University (Wilmore, KY)

Travis Kane Price

Jim Owens, Advisor

David the Kid, Asbury University (Wilmore, KY)

Kevin Combs

Jim Owens, Advisor

Global & Delicious: Frijolada, University of Cincinnati - Blue Ash (Cincinnati, OH)

Patricia Macias

H. Michael Sanders, Dave Hubble, Bill Boyle, Matt Bennett, Advisors

Thereafter, Western Kentucky University (Bowling Green, KY)

Aaron Davis

Luke Pennington, Advisor

Audio/Sound

Mike's Double BBQ Burger, Xavier University (Cincinnati, OH)

Ben Thomson, Joe Pinkerton

Blis DeVault, Kyle Howland, Jon Nicholas, Advisors

Torturous Power, University of Cincinnati - Blue Ash (Cincinnati, OH)

Kyler Duecker

H. Michael Sanders, Dave Hubble, David Hartz, Bill Boyle, Matt Bennett, Advisors

Isopod Adventure, University of Cincinnati - Blue Ash (Cincinnati, OH)

H. Michael Sanders, Dave Hubble, David Hartz, Bill Boyle, Matt Bennett, Advisors

Happy Ending, Xavier University (Cincinnati, OH)

Justin Wood, Birdy Zena

Blis DeVault, Kyle Howland, Jon Nicholas, Advisors

Ohio Valley Chapter College Student Production Award Nominees (2023)

Editor

Kentucky Sports Video Editing Composite, University of Kentucky (Lexington, KY)
Jasper Howell
Gregory Gorham, Advisor

Third Rock Music, University of Cincinnati - Blue Ash (Cincinnati, OH)

Justin Gammon

H. Michael Sanders, Dave Hubble, Bill Boyle and Matt Bennett, Advisors

Isopod Adventure, University of Cincinnati - Blue Ash (Cincinnati, OH)

Ray Runtz

H. Michael Sanders, Dave Hubble, David Hartz, Bill Boyle, Matt Bennett, Advisors

Global & Delicious: Frijolada, University of Cincinnati - Blue Ash (Cincinnati, OH)
Patricia Macias

H. Michael Sanders, Dave Hubble, Bill Boyle, Matt Bennett, Advisors

Photographer

TOAST, Asbury University (Wilmore, KY)

Gavin Oak-Lee Reed Jim Owens, Advisor

Third Rock Music, University of Cincinnati - Blue Ash (Cincinnati, OH)

Justin Gammon

H. Michael Sanders, Dave Hubble, Bill Boyle and Matt Bennett, Advisors

Global & Delicious: Frijolada, University of Cincinnati - Blue Ash (Cincinnati, OH)

Patricia Macias

H. Michael Sanders, Dave Hubble, Bill Boyle, Matt Bennett, Advisors

1966, University of Cincinnati (Cincinnati, OH)

Clark Comstock

Don Hancock, Advisor

One Ride, University of Cincinnati (CIncinnati, OH

Clement Ho, Tyler Brune

Kenneth Allen, Advisor

Mind Over Matter, Western Kentucky University (Bowling Green, KY)

Carrie Guyton

Sara Thomason, Advisor

Rose-Colored Glasses, Western Kentucky University (Bowling Green, KY)

Carrie Guyton

Sara Thomason, Advisor

The Ritual, Western Kentucky University (Bowling Green, KY)

Travis Harrell

Sara Thomason, Advisor

Talent: News or Sports

Adi Schanie Reporter Reel, Western Kentucky University (Bowling Green, KY) Adi Schanie Bradley Pfranger, Advisor

Sports Reel, Ohio University (Athens, OH)
Jack Demmler
Atish Baidya, Advisor

####