- History | NATAS Ohio Valley
EMMY Statue 3


The roots of The Ohio Valley Chapter can be traced to 1959 when the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences was petitioned to form a regional Chapter in Columbus, Ohio. That Charter was granted by the National Trustees in September of 1962, marking the beginning of the National Academy’s second “regional”, known then as the Columbus Chapter of NATAS. In its first year, the fledgling organization named Merv Durea (Program Director, WLW-C) its first president, established a scholarship ‘to be awarded to an outstanding Ohio State University student in television’, and sponsored professional development seminars featuring Rod Serling (October 1962) and Shari Lewis (March 1963).

First Emmy® Awards

In 1964, the Columbus Chapter’s first Emmy® Awards were presented [Chapter 10 Reports”, WBNS; and “Christmas in the Air”, WLW-C] at the Museum of Science & Industry in Columbus.


By 1974, the Chapter expanded to include Dayton and Cincinnati and was re-named the Columbus/Dayton/Cincinnati Chapter. Our Chapter is unique in that it is the only regional NATAS chapter that retains its Charter in three cities.

In the early 1990s, the Emmy® Award boundaries of all regional chapters were expanded to ensure that every television professional in the United States would have access to and eligibility in the renowned Emmy® Awards. In 1994, the C/D/C Chapter adopted a more inclusive name, the Ohio Valley Chapter, to more accurately reflect the large region we serve.


Today, our chapter presents the prestigious and coveted Emmy® Award to television professionals in thirteen markets from four states, and makes scholarships available to students at accredited colleges and universities throughout the region.